2023 CACF Hall of Fame

Our inaugural class showcases the rich history of cinema with strong ties to Central Florida. As part of our mission, we wish to lift up and celebrate the achievements of the creative teams that work in our region. We want to cultivate a collection of iconic movies that will continue to represent Central Florida and the diverse stories that are capable in our hometowns. All of the films have significant ties to the Central Florida area. Below is the inaugural class of ten films.

Images provided by Shot Deck

Films Selected for the 2023 Critics Association of Central Florida Hall of Fame

(chronological order)

The Creature From the Black Lagoon (1954) - Directed by Jack Arnold

Cool Hand Luke (1967) - Directed by Stuart Rosenberg

Edward Scissorhands (1990) - Directed by Tim Burton

Apollo 13 (1995) - Directed by Ron Howard

The Blair Witch Project (1999) - Directed by Daniel Myrick & Eduardo Sanchez

Lilo & Stitch (2002) - Directed by Chris Sanders & Dean DeBlois

Monster (2003) - Directed by Patty Jenkins

Magic Mike (2012) - Directed by Steven Soderbergh

Spring Breakers (2013) - Directed by Harmony Korine

The Florida Project (2017) - Directed by Sean Baker

To qualify, films must have been released to the public for a minimum of five years. The film must also have a significant connection to the Central Florida area. This connection can be through its use as a narrative setting, having shot the film on location in the region, or having been created by filmmakers from Central Florida.

The Critics Association of Central Florida is an organization of critics based in or around the Central Florida area and consists of critics and journalists with a wide reach to a diverse and expansive audience.

Our membership experienced rapid growth in its second year, expanding to a membership of 40 critics in 2023. Our membership represents outlets of all sizes, from independent blogs, social media influencers, and major outlets such as iHeartRadio’s PRIDE Radio & FandomWire.

The Critics Association of Central Florida is proud to recognize these amazing achievements in film.